Manitas de cerdo a la vinegreta (Pickled pigs feet)

Gallery

As soon as I read this recipe I had to try it.  I have always enjoyed offal, but so many of my old favourites; lamb shanks, ox tail and tongue, have fallen into the hands of chefs who have made them fashionable and expensive. But not pig trotters. I have fond memories of pig trotters as an occasional weekend treat when I was a child. My mother never got past the boiling stage, and I was quite happy with that. I loved the sticky, glutinous succulence, and still do, but I think you will find that the marinade and other ingredients make this a rather sophisticated improvement.

Have your butcher cut the trotters in half. I forgot so used an axe and chopping block. The lack of hygiene in this method I felt was compensated for by the long cooking time!

Manitas de cerdo a la vinegreta

Ingredients Stage 1:

6 pig trotters

5 quarts of water

1 onion halved

2 cloves garlic

2 cups white vinegar

1 sprig fresh thyme

1 bay leaf

Method stage 1

Cover the trotters with 5 quarts of fresh water and add the first group of ingredients. Simmer until the meat is tender.

Once cool, remove the meat from the bones and place in a bowl. This can be done the day before serving and refrigerated overnight.

Ingredients Stage 2:

1/8 cup oil

2 medium white onions finely sliced into rings

3 cloves of garlic finely chopped

1 bay leaf

½ teaspoon of dry thyme

Salt and pepper

2 cups of white vinegar

Method stage 2

Heat oil in frying pan and lightly fry (acitronar) onions, garlic, and bay leaf. Add meat and lightly fry for a few minutes. Season with thyme, salt and pepper and remove from the heat. Allow to cool before placing in a bowl with the 2 cups of vinegar. Refrigerate 1-2 hours.

Ingredients Stage 3:

2 jalapenos seeded and cut into 8 slices (rajas)

1/8 cup olive oil

1tbspn chopped cilantro

1 tablespoon of capers

2 large ripe tomatoes sliced

½ tablespoon of dry oregano

2 avocados sliced length ways

½ cup of mild white cheese crumbled

Method stage 3:

Arrange meat on a shallow serving dish. Pour marinating liquid over. Arrange chiles, cilantro, tomato slices, capers and oregano over the meat. Dress with olive oil. Dish can be returned to fridge at this stage. Before serving arrange avocado slices and sprinkle cheese and additional seasoning if required.

Buen provecho!

Leave a comment