Welcome to the beginning of my blog!!

Gallery

Dear friends, it is with great excitement that I publish the first page of my blog. It has been a long time coming as I first started it in October. Having little nous when it comes to this type of thing, I got frustrated and fed up and it has been languishing ever since. But lovely Kirsten has taken it in hand and shown me how easy it actually is. She is responsible for finding the lovely graphic on the header, which while not strictly Mexican, captures my sense of Mexican colour and movement and reminds me of the talavera ware of Dolores de Hidalgo.

Since I left Christchurch and moved to the Wairarapa in pursuit of my dream of teaching Mexican cooking and taking groups on culinary tours of Mexico, things have started to come together wonderfully. I am scheduled to teach a 6 week course in Mexican Cooking at Wairarapa College in the community education programme, starting 20 February. I am going to do my damndest to make them the best cooking classes ever and if I do, there will be other opportunities as Waicol is responsible for Community Ed programmes in other Wairarapa schools, not just Masterton. I also have an engagement with Wairarapa REAP in February for a class during the women’s weekend they hold in Martinborough, and today I heard I have secured a job I applied for cooking at a resthome in Greymouth on Saturdays and Sundays, and have also made friends with people involved in the hospitality industry here. So my whole life hear revolves around food.

Back to my blog – I am bursting with ideas at the moment so will probably blog quite regularly. I was keen to get it running in time for my cooking classes, and will post recipes. You will notice a recipe page, and also a photo page. I intend to add another page soon with my itinerary for a culinary tour in October this year so keep an eye out for that.

My goal is to introduce Kiwis to real Mexican cooking, not the Tex Mex stuff that gets passed off as Mexican food in restaurants. I guess I have to hope that people want something different, but even if they don’t, I want them to know what real salsas, tacos, enchiladas etc., are like. To this end, my first recipe is for the quintessential Mexican salsa – Salsa Mexicana. Try it, it is easy as and very fresh and tasty.

Part of my overall strategy is to use recipes for which proper ingredients, or good substitutes can be found, rather than providing recipes that Kiwis will have no hope of reproducing. I am just looking up some more information and will post a blog with the details soon. Meanwhile, whip up a Salsa Mexicana, and buen provecho!

Tacos al pastor in Mexico City

Leave a comment